Mac and Cheese PLEASE

The other day I was discussing food with my dad. Although a fairly common topic of conversation for us, something came up that I had to share. He reminded me that he used to make cheese sauce in the microwave and before he could finish his sentence I shouted “and you used to let me mix it!” Although this may not seem exciting to you – mixing things used to be my passion. Granted I was 5 years old, it was still one of my hobbies.  Cheese sauce used to be my favourite pasta sauce because it meant that I was getting mac and cheese for dinner – a meal I have always loved. In fact, I love it so much that my boyfriend arrives at my house with a 1kg microwave meal for us to share – regularly. Naturally I eat most of it. Back to the point, this afternoon I was desperate for lunch and I didn’t want to go down to the shops – a clear habit of mine. I remembered the conversation with my dad and instead of buying a microwave meal, I made my own.

Microwavable Mac and Cheese

This recipe comprises of two sections: pasta and the cheese sauce. Each recipe can be used on its own. Each recipe serves 1.

Pasta

Pasta can be made in the microwave as well as the on the stove. This recipe is adapted from moms have questions too.

What you’ll need: microwavable dish with a lid (otherwise plastic wrap), 100g macaroni, a drop of oil and a pinch of salt.

Step 1. Put all ingredients into the dish and place in the microwave for 10-12 minutes on high. Cover bowl/container with plastic wrap – poke 2 holes in the plastic. During this time you can start preparing for the sauce.

Pasta before being cooked. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.
Pasta before being cooked. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

Step 2. Let the pasta sit for about 5 minutes or until consistency is suitable.

20150502_134750
Cooked pasta. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

Step 3. Drain and serve.

Cheese Sauce

What you’ll need: microwavable bowl, 30 grams butter, 30 grams flour, 250ml milk, 80 grams cheddar cheese, salt, pepper and a whisk.

Step 1. Place butter in bowl and microwave until melted.

30 grams of butter ready to be melted. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.
30 grams of butter ready to be melted. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

Step 2. Add in flour, salt and pepper and mix well. Place in into the microwave for 40 seconds.

20150502_135322
30 grams of flour after being added to melted butter. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.
Flour has been mixed with the melted butter. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.
Flour has been mixed with the melted butter. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

Step 3. Whisk in the milk while mixing the batter together, trying to get rid of bumps. Add cheese and mix.

20150502_140059
All ingredients have been whisked together. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

Step 4. Microwave for about 2 minutes, stopping every 45 seconds to stir the sauce.

Sauce is ready to be served. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.
Sauce is ready to be served. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

Step 5. Serve while hot.

Mac and Cheese

Coat pasta with the sauce and mix thoroughly before serving. Top with cheese, salt and pepper.

Mac and cheese ready to be served. Topped with pepper and cheese. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.
Mac and cheese ready to be served. Topped with pepper and cheese. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

There we go – mac and cheese made fully in a microwave in under 15 minutes. Comment or like the post if you enjoy the meal.

Serve mac and cheese with lemon and mint infused water. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.
Mac and cheese served with lemon and mint infused water. Photo by: Student Kitchenette.

3 thoughts on “Mac and Cheese PLEASE

Leave a comment